Heron trying to build a nest

What a wonderful day, X-mas 2010 and I am so lucky to have the love and support of my family,  X-mas if anything makes you appreciate charity, love and family.  I feel  very fortunate. I think of this season as one of giving,  not just family, but giving to causes, to charities. It’s important to give a little of yourself to something.  I contribute to animal organizations,  The World Wildlife Fund, our county Humane Society and Pound. I try and donate when I can and with every sale of my art. My son Adam, can often be seen toting a big bag of cat and dog food to the pound or shelter. Remember that whatever you believe in, charity is needed all year round especially now with times so hard. Tonight I sat watching the CNN Hero Awards and saw such heroism of human causes.  http://www.cnn.com/SPECIALS/cnn.heroes/index.html
Watching these heroes give of themselves is inspiring. For whatever cause you feel passionate about, give of yourself in one way or another. Help each other, we are all part of the fabric of life.

My herons have started their chore pf building a nest, well, actually two. I watched for several days as they flew back and forth as they do each year, plotting the tangled trees for the right place to build. There are 3 herons that I have noticed. The male is balancing two females in two different locations.
He must build two nests for his two ladies.  It looks like I will be lucky enough to have a nest on my property. If I could, I’d help gather branches for them! But, half the fun is watching them wiggle branches and break them for their nest. 

These next days will be fun to watch.  The cranes too, they have kicked the kids out and are honeymooning alone now. It’s too soon for them to be in mating mode, not for another couple months, but they seem to be a very happy pair. With the water being so very low, I am wondering if perhaps the cranes will build a nest on that small island like they did a couple years back
both these pics are from a few years ago.I can’t wait to see where the cranes build their own home. It’s really so nice that they are ground dwellers versus the herons who nest so far up. Here’s the cranes this afternoon.

Stray cat is going to learn a lesson!

The other wildlife is always abundant, today came the jays, Always love hearing their chatter.  The brown Thrasher was busy taking an X-mas dip,   I tried fishing and found nothing was biting at all. Did not see any turtles, or even many clouds. At least we had a warmer day, about 70 degrees, I still had two sweaters on!

Friday I went up to look at the restaurant, 2 Blondes and a Shrimp after the elderly lady crashed into the building when she mistaked the gas for the brake. Luckily no one was injured!  link —
http://www.cfnews13.com/article/news/2010/december/186293/Car-crashes-into-restaurant-in-Sanford
When I found out the building was hit, I immediately wondered if the resident rooster, Herbie Hancock had been hit?  Luckily, he was fine.
I decided to patronize and had a cup of She Crab soup and salad, both were great.  
Glad to see they were still able to continue serving despite the big drive out service sized hole in the front corner.
And the day is almost over, the rains have begun, the moon should have risen a half hour ago, but clouds are now in the way, though the rain has tapered off. X-mas 2010 is winding down, the gifts were great, company wonderful, and the love, ah, that’s the best part, sharing the love, in a few days I will have a second X-mas  with the grandbaby, love these duel celebrations, it makes it twice as much fun. So on Dasher and Dancer, Prancer and Vixen, Comet and Cupid, Donner and Blitzen –  (up in the corner of the next pic) back to the north pole, back to working on toys for 2011,  back to the world of art for me, somehow it all goes back to creativity, and that’s what happens when one lives in abbesworld, you have reality distractions and then are driven back into the creative flow never seems to sleep, I can attest to that! So goodnight and enjoy your gifts, or better yet, enjoy the bounty of love of those around you – Love love love, love is all you need, love is all you need, love is all…

