Barbara Ann Clay-Marshall is an amazing lady who often can be found pontooning around the St. John’s River. I met her through the Gateway Center For the Arts Photography group. She is the kindest person, so caring and genuine you can’t help but embrace her. I knew her through her photography,  but remembered she told me she painted also. This week when she emailed me and said she hoped she would see me on the 3rd, I immediately emailed back, “what have I forgotten?” I was sure I was missing out on something I was supposed to be responsible for, but she said she was having a reception for her exhibit at The White Cup Coffeehouse in Debary. How could I say no? So, I went and I am so glad I did!

I parked and outside sat a woman who had you sign a card for a drawing for free coffee and there was also a chance of winning a portrait painted by Ann.

The place was filled with people and as soon as you walked in, someone handed me 3-D glasses. It turns out that Ann had painted in a way that everything was dimensional while wearing the glasses.   It was so much fun!   Have a look

Too bad you don’t have your glasses on — these are too cool,  a hat lifts off the head,  eyes raise above the face, flowers want to be plucked.

Ann had a thick notebook with prints of her work, here ya go…   She paints in all types of medium,  

some in charcoal, acrylic, oils and pastels.  Ann taught elementary school for 24 years and now spends many hours working at and enjoying her art.

Ann looked so happy as she greeted friends and family-   she always has a smile, it’s the way I think of her, with her zest for life and learning and that’s how she affects people, they can feel her warmth just by being anywhere in the same room. So if you happen upon the city of Debary, on 17/92 across from the Winn Dixie, get ready for a treat with your coffee or tea or good eats at The White Cup – the scenery will have you trapped within the dimensional art world of  Barbara Ann Clay-Marshall, all you can do is go with the flow…

