72509desk-1res This is the desk in early afternoon after coming back from downtown Sanford.  Today I was wearing my Winnie the Pooh mantle and Winnie, (Abbe) was on a quest for honey. I remembered that Sanford was having a ribbon cutting for the “posts” the city built and the new brick road they made at 17/92 and First Street.
postssanford I take a lot of windshield pics while driving, it makes driving more interesting- ha ha –
The festivities were in full swing besides the regular Saturday Farmers Market. They had a band playing outside The Tuned Up Music Center and lots of booths set up along the way. I really came to get my honey since my last bottle is running low from last week. I knew Bill Frederickson of Frederickson Apiaries would be there in his booth with his samples and decided to go to Sanford instead of going to the Lake Mary booth. Sanford was having  a ‘party vibe’ going on.
I started out my quest at Fringe, Kim Johnston the owner was there, she loves vintage clothing and jewelry, hats, shoes, anything from “time removed”. I love her pink shop and looking at the pins and artwork. Next door to her is an antique shop with furniture, knock knacks and even old Beauty salon chairs and the old bones of a canoe hanging from the ceiling.
fringeres

email Kim:  fringefx@gmail.com   phone 407-320-8016 for info on both shops.
beautychairsres 100_2495res

Then on to Divine Mother Earth, a very cool, India inspired clothing and accessory store.   http://DivineMotherEarth.com The shop was so colorful and had some sexy clothes too, I need to learn belly dancing.
DVMres dme2res dme3res

Passed by Big Fish Little Pond which was closed and then headed toward “The Clock” where the market is. That meant passing the local newspaper, The Sanford Herald who had all their photographers out among the crowd taking pictures for a story or two, (that might have been why everyone was so nice, they probably thought I was with the Herald, umm, they might be really disappointed that this is just another local blog, I’ll let you know if I get any complaints.)
Next I visited Hot Pots – the ‘paint your own pottery’ studio that was highly organized and full of inventory. (I need to ask her to come over and take a look at my desk,) http://wwwHotPotsSanford.com 407-688-POTS – Hey, give a call and have a paint your pottery party!  HP2res
Over at Jeanine Taylor Art Gallery, it is never a disappointment, The artwork is world class literally, she sells to people and collectors from all over the world.
http://www.jtfolkart.com – the working artists who have booths inside could not be friendlier, and the talent in that building is immense. I was able to get photos at the shared booth of Cindy Sturla who had her sweet camera shy dog Molly and Stewart Jones, if you like the feel of a good water color, if they don’t have it, they will paint it. jt-1res molly-1res

HP1res

I found artist Aurore Brunet around the corner with her vivid paintings.
http://wwwaurorebrunet.com She was on the floor working on a large piece.
AB2res ab-1res

ab3-1

Her work was fun with wild color, it made me smile from the vivid intensity –    Please go visit over there and “Support the arts” – And say hello to Mary at the front desk – she runs a tight ship!
Back to the street and I came across too booths where people are trying to educate us to the environment. KFB-1res I don’t know what makes me take the angled shots, but this was the booth of Keep Seminole Beautiful,

http://KeepSeminoleBeautiful.org
according to their non-profit website:   KSB provides a variety of services to Seminole County including the coordination of a number of activities and events. These include Anti-Litter Projects, River, Retention Pond & Lake Clean-Ups, Educational Gardens, Water Conservation Programs, Community Block Grants and other projects… They would gladly address any questions regarding gardening problems, water projects, etc.
Next to their booth was Friends of The Weikva, a local group who are also a non-profit org who monitor anything that impacts the Wekva and Little Wekva river. http://www.friendsfowekiva.org Both groups are made up of wonderful, caring people who want to help keep our Florida environment as pristine as possible for the future protection of our beautiful nature. You are welcome to join them and volunteer for river clean ups and other projects.
wekres-1 book-1re Jim Robison, “Historian For Hire”, is a seasoned writer of books dealing with Florida history. His latest book is a joint exercise with the help of non-fiction writer and videographer, Bill Bellville of Equinox Documentaries is titled:  Image of America, Along The Wekiva River will be out in November. This book is all about the events that have shaped the waterway. Both have impressive credentials and a vast supply of knowledge for their subjects. Jim Robison is available to speak to groups, his number is 407-677-4004 – his email: jimrobison@cfl.rr.com. Bill Belleville’s Equinox Documentaries website :
http://equinoxdocumentaries.org
I went into Maya Books & Music 407-321-6504 where they have plenty of books for sale and Kenneth Dittman, a numismatist also has an area where he has jewelry  and coins and art for sale. http:wwwkenscoins.net
bookres bil bookre2

Finally I was at the heart of the Farmers Market. There was some wonderful singing going on and a flurry of activity that goes along with having booths full of spices, art, fresh fruit and veggies, candles and all the Farmers market stuff.  But I just wanted honey.FA-1res honeyre

Bill and his wife Marion have the Happy Bee Honey Farm, also called Frederickson Apiaries., they have been beekeeping for 30 years.  This time I got Summer Wildflower, though my all time favorite is still Orange Blossom. They have all kinds of flavors, I’m loyal to what I like. I even got a bigger bottle – I swear I drink this stuff!
By then I was ready to go home, it was sooo hot! I made my way through the crowd, took a few more pics:  potter-1re
bikes On my way home I took a few more windshield pics:
1leaving 100_2548res
and that was that, all that for a ‘fix’ of honey – well, I learned a lot along the way and now you did too.

