Do you come across these bad boys? Southern lubber grasshopper, Romalea guttata 72309grasshopper-1b copy

They are mean and spit at you and eat your yard from top to bottom. They are the kind of beings that you dream about and in the dream you are an inch tall and they are big as Godzilla and running after you and spitting out globs of tobacco, (where did that rumor come from anyway – though I can see this guy sitting on a naked plant after eating the whole thing and having a smoke.)
Most people around here don’t like them because they are pests and love to snack on ornamental bushes, but I love the crisp colors.  72109grasshopperinyrface-2res The Grasshoppers come in a few  sizes around here, this guy is the King of grasshoppers.  712109grasshopperontunk-1res 72109grasshopperfacesright-2res Someone told me to put it on my fishing hook and a big bass will be waiting for me. But somehow I look at this funny face and I can’t bring myself to do it.  Why? I don’t know – they are locusts in disquise, and if there were an abundance of them, I could probably attempt to, but picking that funny critter up and feeling it’s strong body just pushing to get loose, I have to let him go. And don’t you think that is so generous of me? Me too, though, don’t tell the neighbors because that’s where my kindness put that hungry critter…

When all the birds are faint with the hot sun, And hide in cooling trees, a voice will run From hedge to hedge about the new-mown mead; That is the grasshopper’s–he takes the lead

In summer luxury–he has never done With his delights, for when tired out with fun, He rests at ease beneath some pleasant weed.
John Keats


