okay, how is this scenerio? Last night I was fishing with the mother heron. I had not seen the baby all day, nor had my neighbor and the young heron usually only stays in a 4 yard radius near to it’s tree with the family nest and because it has not been able to use it’s wings yet, it nests in the Norfolk pine on my property, but last night and the night before, it did not climb up there at night, so…listen to this…Last night I had the mother heron standing in the weeds next to me and there was a huge racket that came out of the family nest. It was so loud and boisterous, the female flew back home and that is a first, usually nothing at all disturbs her when I fish. Last night she heard all the noise and flew up to the nest. I went inside and got my binoculars and saw that both babies were up there versus the one sibling that has remained. Could it be the baby has found flight and went back home? It sounded like a reunion last night as there was all kinds of noises going on. The mother was up there flapping her wings and the babies big heads were bobbing up and down with their wings spread out also. I did not think there were 3 babies originally, it seemed like two were in that nest to begin with. Can someone tell me if one baby did fly down out of the nest, could it possibly go back there if it found how to use its’ wings? Why couldn’t it?  The babies, which actually are almost as large as the mother, were bobbing and screaming and wings were expanding and contracting, it was much louder than the normal, “feed me” noise they make. Anyway, I would like to think the baby heron had learned to use his wings and flew back home.

The mother stayed up there for at least twenty minutes, then flew back down to the weeds in the water again. I asked her point blank if that was the baby that had ‘flown the coup’, but she didn’t say, she only stared at the water waiting for the sound of the fish slapping the water as I pull them in. I think there is a story to be told in that nest!

3heronsinnestresize-1

