This morning a fracas broke out in my yard! Carbs and Elvis and the twin Peking ducks were all socializing nicely and the ‘band of brother’ (BOBs) mallards that I had mentioned from yesterday showed up and they did not go after the girls! No, they singled out Carbs and took off chasing him around the yard and then into the water. The girls stayed on shore, but Elvis took off in the rear. The band leader mallard jumped on top Carbs and began unleashing a rape/mating stance. I’m confused… Was it an act of domination? The BOBs pursued Carbs with Elvis swimming in tow.  In fact, Elvis swam to Carbs side, but could do nothing until the mallard was through ravaging Carbs. bandofbrothersaftercarbs1

rapeofcarbs-1

(Carbs red head below lead duck)

328bandofbrothers

I think it is a property issue of domination. For the first year I lived here, the BOB’s (band of brothers) were here all the time. After that, I only saw them sporadically.  Now suddenly they come back to claim the place? And I have heard that ducks do NOT cross breed, but I have seen breeding between three different breeds of ducks.
As I was finishing this, Carbs and the twins have come back on shore. The band of brothers stayed off shore and bickered with each other. I went out side to snap some pics. Those BOBs are truly the bullies of the lake! When they tried to get back onshore, I chased them off so now they are next door and will probably be back again. And we as humans think we hold all the cards on emotions. I don’t know, I look outside and see another ducky version of TV/Land’s,  “The reunion Story”…

