dsc02892The great blue heron shows up around 4:30pm usually and jumps up on the stump as if to announce his presence. When he sees me respond by getting my fishing box and rod, he jumps down

and runs in front of me down to the lake. dsc02895 But last night, he looked very funny, like some old flasher! dsc02897 As you can see, even the female Pekin duck is hiding her face!  The heron stood like that a while.  Just strutting his stuff for all to see. dsc00114 Even Carbs, the muscovy duck had seen enough. Finally as I got close, the heron jumped off the concrete seawall and stood on the bank waiting to see if he could mooch a handout if I caught anything. dsc02386 He waited for a long time, but finally I caved in and threw him a nice sized bream.  I can hear babies up in the nest! There are two distinct young heron voices squawking for some food. I guess maybe the heron thinks if he puts on a peep show, I might put out more, ha ha!

For more heron photos: http://offshoot2.wordpress.com

