This is the lake level this morning, (1.03) on tall gauge. Look just beyond that to see top of smaller gauge that is finally disappearing beneath much needed rain water that has been continually filling the lake during summer thunderstorms. We still have a long way to go and with Fay threatening to do a “Charlie” – Charlie was our first hurricane in 2004 that rammed into the west coast and followed I-4 through the middle of the state. So I am getting a bit prepared, have gas for generator, bread and peanut butter jelly, cat food, bird food, etc. I threw loose stuff into garage and did put up only two plywood boards over my bedroom window because there is a tree right there. But I won’t bother with the others unless Fay turns into a category 2. 
    This will be a 3 part series about how it is to get ready for hurricane, the day of the hurricane and after the hurricane. I will take the same pictures the gauge and marsh on Wednesday. 
    Wonder if this will be like 2004, one hurricane almost every two/three weeks or if it will be a dud??? The rain bands will probably hit us which is good. The lake has lots of room for now.  The news channel 13 is always on to watch the progression and on the computer, we go to NOAA to watch the progression and water vapor and the details they offer.
   We can’t take it too lightly, as with Charlie, both neighbors got trees through their roofs. I am hoping this won’t be such a big event, but there are also possibilities for tornados. We will wait and see and I will update you on what the storm looks like and how it effects us. I may add photos today just of wildlife if anything fun is running, flying, swimming around….

