Ugh, weeding! It has been too long and I have let the weeds get too numerous, and under a summer Florida sky it’s brutal! But yesterday the sky grew thick with clouds and I went out under a shaded summer heat to try and get a few beds weeded.
   The first thing I saw were the big bumble bees loving the yellow flowers, gyrating into each bright face.  Head first they rammed themselves into the blooms. Having a bee high! Drunk on pollen. 
   Birds flew all over the place, cardinals, blue jays, hawks, and finally I heard a lot of complaining and looked up and saw a baby woodpecker with his open beak calling for some room service. And in just seconds, the father bird appeared with the grub. The baby still cried and cried for more and more. The father obliged and finally left the baby alone to complain. About 3 years ago after the hurricanes, I had 7 trees removed from my backyard as my neighbors on both sides of me had pine trees through their roofs after a terrible season of 4 hurricanes dropping by. I was spared, but had the trees closest to the house removed. I left 2 of them sheared off at the top to encourage birds. I now have woodpecker condos. They bore holes inside the trees and raise their babies. So as I was out there sweating and cussing at the weeds, this baby woodpecker made it fun. In fact, I had to go inside, get the camera, and interrupt the momentum. But, that’s okay, it’s good to have an excuse to let the weeding go till October and enjoy the wildlife around the backyard…  Weeding still sucks!

